Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Top Ten Tuesday: If You Liked, You Will Love...

Hey y'all! Every week, The Broke and the Bookish blog hosts a linkup where book bloggers post their Top Ten Tuesdays. This week's theme is If you liked, then you will love…

And of course, I jumped on the opportunity to bring some information to all of you!

So, without further ado.. Top Ten Tuesday!


The Book Thief by Markus Zusak was an instant classic when it hit shelves in 2005. If you loved The Book Thief, check out Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. The two books feature the same setting (WWII), and really interesting female main characters.
If you loved Breaking Bad and looking to satisfy your withdrawals, check out the novel Go Ask Alice. This novel is written in diary format, which makes for a very personal experience, and it chronicles a teen's spiral into drug addiction during the 70's in a very raw and honest way.
Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert was an instant bestseller that chronicles the author's journey around Europe and Asia in an effort to find herself. While The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce is fictional and features a very different sort of journey, I found that the outcome of discovering yourself along the way was very much the same between the two novels.
Personally, I was not a fan of Fight Club, but I can't deny that the movie has gained a cult following. For those of you who haven't read the book, check out some of Chuck Palahniuk's other works. For book club, we read Survivor, and it was one of the most unique novels I have ever read.
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn is a wildly popular novel (soon-to-be movie!) that has had people raving since its debut in 2012. Readers love the psychological intrigue and startling twists that the novel brings. A novel that I read many, many years ago, Thr3e by Ted Dekker, had the same lasting impression on me that Gone Girl has due to its psychological nature and big changes throughout the novel.
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini is another modern classic that nearly everyone has read (except me, because this.) My favorite part about The Kite Runner was the interesting perspective it gave into the Middle Eastern world, unskewed by media and prejudices. I Am Malala, a nonfiction novel, provided the same insight with even more clarity. I was impressed by how entrapped I became with this novel.
I've been following the Postsecret blog for many, many years now. There's something captivating about seeing people spill their deepest secrets, and finding how well I relate to so many of them. If you like the Postsecret books or blog, check out It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini. The insight you gain into the main character's mind, coupled with some very humorous and very serious moments really makes this novel stand out.
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson was a book that I read in high school that I took with me through my adult life. The main character goes through rape, which leaves her emotionally crippled and without friends to talk to. The change she undergoes throughout the novel is really inspiring. Another novel that features a situation like this is Hate List by Jennifer Brown. Here, the main character's boyfriend brings a gun to school, and she has to deal with the aftermath.
If you haven't read Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, go read it now. NOW. If I Stay by Gayle Forman is a favorite of book bloggers and features a lot of the same emotional struggles that the main character in Thirteen Reasons Why faces. (Plus, If I Stay is being made into a movie, and the trailer is just beautiful.)
When Robert Pattinson signed up for the movie version of Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen, the novel exploded in popularity. Whether you are a fan of the book, or the movie, or both, The Museum of Extraordinary Things by Alice Hoffman will bring you back to the same time period as Water for Elephants, but with more intriguing characters and points of view.

Hope you enjoyed my first foray into Top Ten Tuesdays! As always, if you have any book recommendations for me, send them via that little form on the sidebar!


1 comment:

  1. Great list :)
    I totally agree with The Book Thief paired with Code Name Verity, awesome choice.
    Cora @ Tea Party Princess

    ReplyDelete